My Iowa/Fellowship Cup Journey

22 Dec

The big move to Iowa was a roller coaster thrill ride.  After a great send off from my PrimeTime Fitness Family, I hit the road on Monday December 16th.  Weather was good to Lexington Ky where I stayed the night.  Headed out Tuesday, it was pretty cold in Indiana with enough icy roads to make my knuckles white for a little while.  Things cleared up in Illinois and the rest of the way.  Very happy reunion with my family and rested on Wednesday.  Thursday was my first day at work (7:00am).  I met so many people from leaders in the community to distributing food and clothing to over 200 people on our busiest day of the week.  That evening I met with a “thirtysomething” group of business people to promote the Fellowship Cup.  Even though it was my first day, I was able to knock their socks off!!  Headed home at 7:00pm, I was pretty mentally drained.  Friday we prepped for the biggest day of the year serving 400 families with food and gift boxes for the children.  I was overwhelmed by the community support and volunteers.  Saturday, the big day.  We were ready to bless the families before a big snow storm came in later that evening.  What a week and intro to my new job.  I love it.  The outgoing Director was just like me.  She was something to watch.  Her connection to the clients and community was inspiring.  She prayed me into service and I prayed for her going into her new job as a Pastor.  She was tearful in leaving.  She left me with a great foundation of volunteers and programs to try to maintain and improve upon.  I have big shoes to fill.  Here are some pictures of a snowy day at the farm.

photo_1photo_5photo_2

fellowship cup

The Fellowship Cup Building where I work.

The Fellowship Cup Building where I work.

The Quarter Maybe Store

The Quarter Maybe Store

12 Responses to “My Iowa/Fellowship Cup Journey”

  1. Eunice and Wade Logan December 22, 2013 at 10:42 pm #

    Blessing and peace for the coming week and New Year. Miss you already. Eunice and Wade.

  2. Cammie Camp December 23, 2013 at 2:17 am #

    We walked into Prime Time with a lump in our throats on Monday. You were on everyone’s mind and certainly in our hearts! We worked hard, and haven’t missed a beat, with a very hard pedal and pump on Wednesday with Heather. Maria was particularly vocal, saying, “Ken wouldn’t make us do all of THIS!”

    It is so reassuring to be able to follow you on your journey. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your story! We are thrilled to hear all about it! Very Best Wishes! Cammie

    • Truth with balance December 23, 2013 at 2:48 am #

      Thanks, miss you all much too. Thanks for the going away video, I enjoyed it!!

      • Cammie Camp December 23, 2013 at 3:27 am #

        Oh we had a ball making that video! We actually planned out our moves (can’t you tell:)). I love the photos–goodness, what a change! It was 80 F here today! The snow is gorgeous. Take care and keep us posted. Merry, merry Christmas to you and your family!

  3. Alice Botts December 30, 2013 at 1:00 am #

    Hey Ken, This is the first time I have ever typed in a blog! I hope you get this….The farm looks beautiful. MY wish for you and your family is blessings of love and happiness, every day. Always, Alice

    • Truth with balance December 30, 2013 at 2:05 am #

      You did it! Thanks Alice for the kind words. Miss you.
      Ken

      • Alice Botts January 2, 2014 at 11:31 pm #

        ….I am Thinking about you, and hoping your step into the New Year will be transforming and renewing…….5,4,3,2.&,Time Always, Alice

  4. Truth with balance January 3, 2014 at 3:58 am #

    Thanks Alice! Have an excellent 2014

  5. Kay Cole January 11, 2014 at 2:36 pm #

    Happy New Year (a little late)! So glad you had a safe trip and have hit the ground running. We miss you here, but are excited for you and the community that you are serving. Best wishes for a great year! (Hope the weather warms up soon-been watching and thinking of you!)

  6. Alice January 20, 2014 at 11:08 pm #

    Hey Ken, In the gym today the TV was on-showing football highlights. I thought of you and wondered if your team won? I remember how much Tim liked talking sports with you. Take care. Always, Alice

    • Truth with balance January 20, 2014 at 11:39 pm #

      My team lost, The Patriots. Thanks for thinking about me. Still miss you all. My job has been very busy and rewarding.

      Much Love
      Ken

Leave a comment